Exciting Changes!!!

So, I haven’t posted in almost a month. That’s bad, but with uni starting again and all sorts of stuff going on, I simply didn’t get around to it.

Chatting to a fellow vegan yesterday, reminded me that I do have a mission here: showing everyone how delicious and healthful (raw) vegan food can be.

So what happened in March?

Well on March 8 I made the decision to overhaul my diet. At the time I ate a standard raw vegan diet, i.e. high fat (avocado, oils, nuts, seeds). I was struggling with emotional eating, eating out of boredom, etc. and I just wasn’t feeling right. Well, guess what, there is a solution.

I found Freelee’s website and hooked up to 30BaD. Since that day, I have been 100% low-fat raw vegan (except 1 glass of orange juice at a function). It has been an awesome time and I have been able to release 3.3kg (6lbs). Just 2.7kg to go :-).

It’s been a blast, I have never felt better in my life. Raw vegan was great but now I am eating a diet that consists of 80% carbs (mostly fruit, some veges, lots of leafy greens), 10% protein and 10% fat (both abundant in fruits, veges and leafy greens).

I have not had overt fats (avocado, nuts, seeds) for all that time and feel great about it. I feel light, cheerful, energetic and I am just positive all the time :-).

I also read a lot about the 80-10-10 “diet” on D. Graham’s website and have bought his book which I am reading at the moment to gain more of an understanding why life has become such an awesome ride for me :-).

Because I am eating 2200 calories each day (tracking it nicely with Cron-O-Meter), I am never hungry, underfed and all my cravings have gone away completely. It is very important to eat enough calories because if you’re lacking fruity carbs, you will find yourself wanting cooked foods/salty/fatty foods again. Not good.

Salt dehydrates us, fat makes us sluggish. For me, 80-10-10 is the way to go. And I know it works for heaps of others, too.

I have started training more seriously for the 10km race on 1 May. My first 10km training run was 56:26. My second one was 55:20. My third one has yet to come, but today I did a 9.6km in 54:00, quite happy with that :-).

I have heaps of energy, so I started walking to work and home, which I find a lot less stressful than biking. With biking I always felt rushed, with walking, it’s just walking. This way I get 2 hours of hill-walking every time I go into town (3-4x a week). I also try to fit in 4 runs a week. This way I am still tired by the end of the day, making sure I get 8 hours of sleep (more on days off).

My skin feels clear and smooth and yeah, I just feel great :-).

In terms of what I’m eating on a typical weekday, here’s a list:

Breakfast (~8.30am): 4-5 oranges

2nd Breakfast (~11.30am): Green smoothie – 4 bananas, 150g-200g of spinach

Lunch (~2.30pm): Green smoothie – 4 bananas, 150g spinach

Dinner (~6pm): 3 apples or oranges; large green salad with 3 zucchinis, 4 tomatoes, a bunch of parsley or coriander, freshly squeezed lemon juice and 1 capsicum

A typical day off/weekend day would be:

Breakfast: 1.5l watermelon juice, fresh

2nd Breakfast: 4-Banana smoothie

Lunch: Green Smoothie – 4 bananas, 200g spinach

Dinner: Large green salad with zucchini, tomato, capsicum, celery

And I am thriving!

Once I it goal weight (Hopefully in 2 weeks) I will post a before and after :-).

So that’s it for now, back to reading “The 80-10-10 Diet”

~ by hearmeraw on April 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
