The vegan is back :-)

After getting a bit of air time on TV, I thought I better start blogging again :-).

Yes, a lot has happened in the last few months which kind of prevented me getting enough time to keep up this page. Since about August/September there have been many changes in my life:

1. I have finally found my calling and decided to start a little (huge) adventure by opening my own health food/vegetarian/vegan cafe here in Wellington after finishing university. This is a giant step and I am absolutely scared but at the same time, it is my dream to share my love for food and my passion for healthy living with as many people as I can possibly reach and to create a place for a community of like-minded people in this city. I have not set a definite date yet as everything is still in my head but the planning will start on paper shortly as I am riding on a real wave of motivation at the moment. So watch out for plans, dreams, news and ideas :-).

2. I applied for Masterchef New Zealand (amateur reality TV cooking show) and got accepted.

My audition recipe can be found here 🙂 (it is worth trying 🙂 ).

3. My brother came to NZ for a working holiday in November on the day of my first exam just before I headed to Auckland for the Masterchef auditions. I had to sit my exams 2 days earlier to be able to go to the auditions. Still got alright marks :-)).

4. In December, we bought our first house together. It is the perfect house and I couldn’t be happier. It is new (4 years), warm, dry, safe, sunny and has a huge property. Problem: the section is steep and covered in native bush. We are clearing a bit so I can have a vege garden as much as possible. Until then it’s herbs on the window sill and I am about to start growing wheat grass. On the weekend, Paul and I will plant lavender, rosemary and thyme in the front yard :-).

5. After Christmas I flew to Sydney to meet my parents and aunty. We spent New Year’s there with fantastic fire works and lots of sunshine. Oh and a lot of ripe mangoes :-). Then we flew back to New Zealand to explore the south island for 3.5 weeks followed by a week up north in Russel. It was a fantastic long holiday with lots of green smoothies for mum and myself, a lot of ripe cherries, peaches, apricots and plums and plenty of sunshine.

Check out the pictures here.

So today I finally arrived in Wellington again, ready to really move into my house (Since 17 December I spent about 2 weeks here in total). I am going back to work tomorrow, wondering what people will say about my latest “vegan weirdness” on TV :-). But hey, my colleagues, well, I love them dearly. They happily try all my food, all my cakes and will be perfect food critics for future cafe food.

On 1 March (3 weeks – uaaaa) I will start uni again for the last trimester ever :-). Well, until I decide I want to become a somewhat important Dr. of some sort :-). No thanks, let’s get into the real world and make a difference, reach out to people, help, support, cheer them on, connect, become friends and make this world a better place.

I have a lot of ideas in my head, a lot of passion and a lot of hope that change will come. And while all these ideas are taking shape and are becoming reality, I will keep cooking and uncooking in my new kitchen with all my fancy gadgets that I love so dearly, with all the great produce that I am addicted to and I hope that one day someone will say, Eva made a difference in my life.

So before I get to sentimental, here’s to a great tomorrow and all those days after that.

Yours truly,

the raw vegan 🙂

~ by hearmeraw on February 8, 2010.

One Response to “The vegan is back :-)”

  1. Congrats on opening your store and following your dream 🙂 Best of luck!!!

Leave a Reply

 
