Green Smoothie Seminar

Hey everyone,

yesterday I went to the Green Smoothie Seminar held here in Wellington, where Victoria and Valya Boutenko presented. Denise and I were both pretty excited and the lecture was great. While we knew quite a lot already because of our raw food journey to date, there was a mountain of new information to take in.

I really need to eat more greens :-). I thought I was doing so well already, but hmm there’s some work to be done. So my plans are to eat *more* greens through green smoothies and to also eat a larger variety of greens. Victoria said we should eat at least 6-7 different greens and rotate them daily. Okay, I’m not sure there are even 6 different greens available at the supermarket, but hey, I will hunt them down.

There are some Asian farmers at the Sunday markets and they have all sorts of greens I don’t know so that will be my starting point. I’m not to comfortable yet with the idea of putting a bunch of parsley in my smoothie, but I’ll certainly give itΒ  a go :-).

Also, it is important to keep things simple. Just use one sort of fruit for your green smoothie and one sort of greens, then add water. I tried it this morning and it was perfectly fine :-).

Aside from that there are a few other thing I’d like to mention :-).

Wendesday was my first vegan anniversary πŸ™‚

Today is the last day of my detox and I am looking forward to creating some gourmet raw food on the weekend :-). I enjoyed the detox a lot and this time I had no problems at all with constipation etc. I feel very good.

I have reached the point where I am by no means wanting to lose more weight. I feel very comfortable and I am happy with myself. So 54kg (1.66m) is the absolut minimum for me. That’s 120lbs (at 5″5).

This week has been a bit challenging exercise-wise because of work :-). When I work I start at 8am. So I get up at 5, read for a bit or so and then go running, but it doesn’t get light until 6.30am, so I have mostly run in the dark. I’m not a big fan of the dark πŸ™‚ though. So I tried to run as late as possible and shortened my distances a bit for this week. And today instead of a 9km run, I did a 9km roller skate :-).

From next week I will be back at uni and my long runs will be on the days where I don’t start until 9.30am, so it’s fine to run at 7am :-). On Wednesdays when I will work at 8am will be my day off (no exercise). Fridays I won’t have uni until noon so there’s plenty of time for runs :-).

At least though, I maintained the amount of days on which I exercised this week so I am pleased :-).

Before I finish this post to buy some fruit, here the last three Detox Smoothie Recipes

Detox Smoothie #5

3 small pears
fresh ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cardamom
1 apple
1/2 bunch spinach
water

Detox Smoothie #6

1 banana
2 oranges
fresh ginger
1/2 bunch spinach
water

Detox Smoothie #7

4 baby bananas
1/2 bunch spinach
water

~ by hearmeraw on February 27, 2009.

3 Responses to “Green Smoothie Seminar”

  1. Yum!! πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Eva! Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog!

    Your detox smoothies look fantastic and I do believe I will whip one up for breakfast today. Yum! And yes, parsley in a smoothie is delicious, and so good for you! Toss in a handful and it’ll make your green smoothie extra-groovy πŸ™‚

    Are you by any chance ‘VeggieGirl’? As in the one who has a blog that is gluten-free, loves to bake, and writes up The Co-Worker’s reviews on her blog? If so, I LOVE that blog! I am a longtime lurker, finally coming out of lurkdom πŸ™‚

    Happy 1 Year Vegan Anniversary!

  3. Hi Sheri,

    thank you :-). No, I am actually not VeggieGirl but hey, I love her blog, too :-).
    Will try the parsley smoothie today. Getting excited πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
