Green inspirations

Hey everyone,

have I ever told you that I am addicted to magazines? 🙂 not the trashy kind, but rather fitness, health and environmental magazines. The fashion ones not so much – too much advertisement and stuff I couldn’t afford or wouldn’t wear anyway :-).

So there are a bunch of magazines I read regularly.

They are all great and inspiring magazines, but especially the last two always manage to wow me and awaken environmental enthusiasm.

I have just joined the campaign for Earth Hour 2009. I am planning to have a dinner party. While most people who do this, cook up a storm and serve it at candle light, I will make it an all raw dinner (preferably without using the dehydrator) to make it a really sensible contribution to earth hour. I will ask everyone to bring a candle or two and I think it could be pretty fantastic!

Another little project I am planning has to do with raw food. Don’t you find that there is soooo much information about nutrition out there? Vitamins, minerals, trace elements, amino acids, essential fatty acids, carbohydrates, protein, fats, acidity levels, alkaline levels, – it all does my head in and I find it hard to comprehend and remember all of it.

Therefore my new goal is to focus on one topic for research each week. For example, Vitamin A. Then I will do some research and write up my findings in a concise easy to understand way and share it with my readers here on this blog. One week at a time we can get through this, don’t you think?

Through the university library I should be able to access some academic resources. I don’t want it to be overly chemical and technical. It should be easy enough to understand so that I don’t produce any wrong information. But at the same time, it should be backed up by science and not just come from some ‘ nutritional writer’ from a wacky magazine :-).

So, this is my plan for now. Please remind me, if I don’t post anything. I know that uni might get in the way, but this is not only important for me, but also for others and I would really like to provide useful resources to you guys out there.

I better get started on my research :-).

I will leave you with today’s Green Smoothie recipe…

Detox Smoothie #3

1 organge
4 small pears
1 piece of ginger
1/2 a bunch of spinach
2 cups of water

~ by hearmeraw on February 24, 2009.

One Response to “Green inspirations”

  1. Girl, I subscribe to OVER 20 publications – obviously I have an addiction as well, haha 😀

Leave a Reply

 
