What’s in a smoothie?

A lot!

As you all know, I love my green smoothies. They are my favourite meal. And every single one of them is different.

I have come up with some new creations :-). They incidently also work as ice creams, well at least the fruit base.

So let’s go for the ice cream first. Not sure if you remember, but I am a biiiiig fan of banana ice cream.

Basic Banana Ice Cream:

2 frozen bananas
1 fresh banana
Blend all bananas together until smooth –> devour!

Variations: add cinnamon or cocoa, walnut pieces or chocolate sauce (made from cocoa, agave and a dash of water)

Banana Fig Ice Cream

2 frozen bananas
2 dried figs (soaked) + their soaking water

Blend everything until smooth. Add fresh ginger for some extra zing!

Be creative here, add any kinds of fruit if you like, I am sure it will work.

Onto the green smoothies now.

I used the banana fig ice cream as a base for a delicious smoothie the other day. I simply added more water and 2 zucchinis (had no spinach and needed to use up leftovers) – it was fantastic

Green Smoothie Banafig: 2 frozen bananas, 2 dried figs (soaked, + soaking water), piece of fresh ginger, 2 zucchini, 2 cups water.

Peary Green Smoothie: 1 fresh, 1 frozen banana, 1 small pear, 1 orange, 1 piece of fresh ginger, 3 cups leafy greens (I used some of which I have forgotten the name, I think the sign said lemon grass, but that doesn’t seem right somehow), 1 Tblsp ground flaxseed, 2 cups water.

More recipes to follow (especially because during the week I have green smoothies twice a day hehe).

Now here are some pictures for you to enjoy :-).

~ by hearmeraw on February 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “What’s in a smoothie?”

  1. Sensational smoothie varieties!!

  2. Fun recipes!

Leave a Reply

 
