My first Thai Coconut

So, at the supermarket I saw fresh Thai drinking coconuts. At $5 a piece ($2.50 US) they were rather expensive but I really wanted to try one, so I bought it. I have to say I was a bit disappointed. There was no meat in it, just water/juice in the shell. I guess it really was a drinking coconut :-). It was tasty but not as good as I expected. However, this little coconut probably travelled for quite sometime before arriving here, so I don’t blame it. I hope one day I can just have a thai coconut in Thailand :-).

Seeing that there was so much coconut water, I decided to not only drink it, but to use some of it, too. I found this recipe. I used it as a guide.

My version: Eva’s Coconut Pie

Base:
1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup dates
1/4 cup cocoa
1/4 cup fresh coconut water

In a food processer, process walnuts until they resemble fine crumbs. Add dates and process until sticky. Add the cocoa powder and pulse a few times until incorporated (it will still be crumbly at this stage). Now add the coconut water and blend. It will all come together into a smooth thick paste. Spread this paste onto a plate or into a bowl (it won’t be a firm crust).

For the topping, cover the crust with your favourite sliced fruits. I used banana and nectarines.

Make the icing.

Icing:
1 1/2 cups dried coconut flakes, soaked in 1 cup water
1 Tblsp agave nectar
1/3 cup cashews

For the icing drain the coconut flakes of most of their water (keep 1/2 cup) and blend with the remaining water until smooth (this should work well in a Vitamix, my handblender had problems getting it smooth. Add the agave nectar and blend again. Add the cashews and blend until the icing is thick and smooth. Spread over the fruit and top with more fresh fruit if you like. Freeze for 1/2 hour until well chilled. Keeps in the freezer.

Here some pictures of the process 🙂

~ by hearmeraw on February 8, 2009.

3 Responses to “My first Thai Coconut”

  1. Make that for my birthday??? 😀

  2. Looks delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  3. Coconut drink (juice) is my favorite dish too. If you are in Thailand, you can find the whole juice + coconut meat in pretty cheap (probably <$1); that is what I love to stay in Thailand longer.

    Your coconut pie looks delicious to me. Want to try some ^_^

Leave a Reply

 
