Yay it’s the weekend

So after Thursday’s exhaustion, Friday I was back to normal, my vibrant, happy self, loving life, loving the world, buzzing of energy. I went to work in the morning, was very productive, got stuff done, spent quality time catching up with colleagues and just had a fabulous day.

As usual I brought my 1 litre drink bottle with green smoothie. I can just down it like that but yesterday I took it slow and had half of it at 9am (as per usual) and the other half 30 min. later. That way I wasn’t too full at the time and didn’t get a ‘frog belly’ :-).

Lunch was a simple green curly “fancy lettuce” with sprouts and lemon juice. My afternoon snack was a cup of sprouts and vege sticks (1 zuccini and 2 carrots with lemon juice, yum!). I love lemon juice, it’s awesome and you can basically use it with everything and anything!

At 4.30pm I left work (hello work life balance!), strolled along the streets, looked at shops, bought some veges on the way home and got home at 6.30pm. Had my dinner (green fabulous smoothie) at 7pm. That smoothie was awesome: 1/2 rock melon, 1 nectarine, 1 frozen banana, 2 dates, 2 cups water, 3 cups spinach. Big and tropical and absolutely delicious.

You know what I always do? After blending the fruit base, I take a big sip to sample. And let me tell you, the combination of melon and frozen banana really rocks my world!

Anyway, to have a bit of crunch I couldn’t resist eating a new season apple afterwards. Then I just chilled out, surfed the net and watched American Idol (yes, 2008 season has arrived here now hahaha).

Went to bed kind of bored because my darling BF was still out in town having drinks with his workmates (why did I buy sausages and prepare dhukka crusted kumara for the BBQ?).

Anyway, eventually he came home and I could manage to not let him wake me up too much so I could go back to sleep.

I got up at 7am this morning, to slowly get ready for my first ever yoga class! we have a yoga studio next door and I have to admit, I’ve never been. But until now, I actually wasn’t in the right mindset to get the most out of it. So I thought, I should try their Saturday Wake up Yoga class at 8.30am – 9.45am.

It was really good. No scary poses, mostly gentle slow stretches and best of all, lots of breathing and meditation. I really need that to get into the relaxing mood for the weekend.

I have to say, my mum does ‘breathing therapy’ (not quite sure about the correct English term) and I never made use of it by her teaching me or so. So now I am discovering this and it’s great. It’s only $10 for the 75min. class (US$5) for students. And seeing that it’s right next door, I will definitely go again and continue to go. I am glad to have found a class that suits me, isn’t too fast (like many of the gym ones) or too advanced.

So now I am sitting on my balcony, laptop on my lap (duh!), it’s warmish (warm enough to not need socks or jacket) in the shade (afternoon sun will come at around late lunch time) and will be doing an assignment for my information systems course.

I’ve decided to do it in little steps with rewards in between :-). So for now I might do a couple of required tasks, then enjoy my green smoothie breakfast (had some melon before yoga and ain’t hungry yet). Then do some more tasks and go shopping afterwards (for some magazine holders – I am tackling more clutter today yay!).

Just on a finishing note I would like to tell you about finishing the detox. Yesterday was my last day and I truly enjoyed the week. I feel it really allowed me to settle into the raw food mind set and feel a better connection with my body. That was the main goal of the detox and I can proudly say I have achieved it.

On a (not unimportant) side note, I have incorporated some resistance exercises like push ups and crunches and have definitely felt and seen the effects over the last week. My core feels and looks stronger and my abs are starting to show (less wiggle yay). In addition, I have gone from 56.1kg to 54.9kg, a 1.2kg (2.6lbs) loss, which I am more than happy about.

I am not worried about such a ‘fast’ weight loss, because I do eat well, I eat enough (don’t starve myself etc.) and I know that once my body reaches its desired weight, the losses will stop. Until then I will enjoy getting rid of ‘excess luggage’ :-).

Now everyone, please have a wonderful weekend. I am looking forward to all the challenges ahead. In the first instance though, I am looking forward to my smoothie :-). For the last week I cut out all fats, so now I will reintroduce flaxseed (ground) in my smoothies and the occasional dried fruit (soaked) like figs – which I loooove.

All the best

Lots of Love! Eva

~ by hearmeraw on January 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
