Detox

I am super-duper happy to report that after my first week of eating almost exclusively raw food, I have lost over 1.5kg (thats 3.3 pounds for you Americans hehe). And all that despite TTOTM (which normally makes me gain a bit).

I actually feel that it is all the sluggishness I felt after our holiday. Don’t get me wrong, I loved travelling and seeing my family and sampling lots of fantastic foods in Australia, Korea, Germany, Italy and Austria. But after all that, plus the fact that it was Christmas time (and yes, plenty of chocolates are vegan hehe), I felt mightily bloated and actually a bit fat. I had left for my holidays about 1kg above my normal weight (due to Christmas drinking-season starting in November for some reason hehe), then gained 2kgs while travelling.

Now I feel so much better. When we got back I weighed around 58kgs (129 lbs) at a height of 5ft6″ (1,66m.) Now I am down to 56.4kgs (125.3lbs) and I am planning to get to 54 or 53 eventually.

I just seem to be losing so effortlessly, because wow I am eating a lot of (raw) food :-). That’s why I assume that this is all the excess weight coming off and that my body will naturally stabilise at its desired weight (whatever that may be hehe).

I also feel so much better because my digestion is so much more regular. I know that this topic is unpleasant and no one ever wants to talk about it. But its just natural and part of our everyday life. So now I never feel bloated or constipated and everything just moves a lot faster and effortlessly as well. No need to take fiber-supplements (I just add ground flaxseed to my smoothies which upps the fiber and introduces some good fats to aid those vitamines in getting into my body), or to do crunches just so I can have bowel movements haha.

I have this little scar on my right upper arm (teenage-related pimple squeezing – yuk!) and I took a photo recently. I am really curious to see whether the scar will go away or at least become a lighter colour over time.

I am already seeing improvements in my facial skin. I’ve never really had acne or many pimples but my cheeks just have these red parts that don’t go away (I’m sure you know what I mean). I think they appear reduced already (but will have to wait and do some before-after comparison).

Okay, so I have basically finished my economics assignment. I have answered the questions, left some space to insert the graphs, have drawn the graphs and must now scan them at work tomorrow and insert. Then it’s due tomorrow at 4pm, so I should be fine :-).

I will start today on an essay about Information Systems and how they are used in the health sector. It’s an assignment I have to do for my distance paper in information systems. The rest of the day will be spent ‘cooking’ and whipping up yummy treats for tonight’s dinner party. I have to go out soon and buy some juices and soft drinks (it’s BYO booze hehe) and then clean, tidy up and set the table.

It’s 10am right now, I’ve been up for 2 hours and I am really hungry, craving my green smoothie. You have to know, our apartment is a 1 bedroom apartment so any kitchen noise can be heard in the bedroom. But yay, boyfriend just woke up, so I don’t have to wait any longer to get mixing and blending and grinding :-).

Will post pictures from tonight’s party whenever they’re ready hehe.

Love to you all!

~ by hearmeraw on January 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “Detox”

  1. Keep up the great work!! 🙂

  2. I like this post. It’s very encouraging! I’m thinking about going raw for a week or two to detox.
    I eat TONS of fiber, through veggies and whole grains, but somehow still my body isn’t quite ‘operating’ the way it should be. Haha. =)

Leave a Reply

 
