Hear me raw!

Welcome everybody to my new blog,

first of all I should introduce myself and I have to say this is all a bit exciting because starting a new blog is like a fresh start to something, the beginning of a new journey and I am looking forward to all the people  will meet along the way.

I am a 23 year old student, majoring in Psychology, Human Resource Management and Accounting (I know it sounds like a strange combination) and am currently in my 3rd year of university. I moved to New Zealand in March 2006 after meeting my partner when travelling here on my OE. We live in a lovely little inner-city apartment and enjoy the convenience of it all :-).

I also work part-time in an office, which is actually quite fun because I have a bunch of great colleagues around me and there’s always something to laugh about, something to discuss or some food to sample (usually provided by me hehe).

In February 2008, after reading “Skinny Bitch” (for obvious reasons – wanting to lose weight) and discovering how ignorant I had been all those years about what I ate, I became vegan, almost over night. After 22 of being a happy omnivore it took 1 week to make a complete switch to the vegan diet (I needed that time to find dairy alternatives). Those last 8 months of being vegan have been the best in my life, I’ve never been healthier, more energetic and more happy with myself.

From the start of 2008 I also began training for a marathon which I completed in June 2008 – as a vegan (just in case anyone was questioning it hehe). No need for egg-white omlettes or tuna sandwiches.

From February until August (my bday) I also managed to lose 6kg of weight which I was so happy about. I manage to maintain that weight (more or less hehe) at the moment and have never felt better.

The past 4 months were actually quite stressful at university and while I was lucky enough to have my healthy lifestyle of good diet and exercise prevent me from getting ill, once lectures finished 10 days ago, I suddenly caught a cold and have been coughing and sneezing for the entire past week. I think it was my body just making it to the (university) finish line before telling me ‘enough is enough’.

But to be quite honest, I am actually glad it happened. Aside from the difficulties it caused me when studying for today’s final exam for my International Human Resource Management paper, my sickness pushed me towards eating more raw foods.

Don’t get me wrong, as a vegan I ate a decent amount of fresh produce. However, because I had to skip the exercise due to my cold, I thought, why not try eating mostly raw? So I did. Admittedly, the combination of exam period, stress at work, being sick and trying to organise my overseas trip home was maybe not the best time to attempt a complete overhaul of my diet. However, I gave it a go and it seriously inspired me to go further.

I have begun starting my days with a raw smoothie of banana, frozen cranberries (they had been in the freezer for ages because they were too sour to have by themselves hehe), apples, kiwifruit, pears, oranges, etc., plus about 1 tblsp of ground linseed. For lunches I tend to have a large green salad with capsicum, carrot, zucchini, etc. and dinners are some sort of salad as well or thawed edamame beans, vege sticks with dip or something along those lines.

I have to admit my raw ‘cooking’ is not very sophisticated just yet but after all I’ve just started and am still trying to find my way around, so it will take some time.

I am happy using my simple stick blender but am reluctant to buy a food processor, let alone a dehydrator for $$$ reasons and because our apartment, while being cute and comfy, is also very small, so there’s no room for any more kitchen appliances :-).

I am not sure yet how this raw food journey will go. I am aiming to eat as much raw as possible but have to admit to the following ‘sins’ 🙂

1. I love good coffee and want to keep it part of my everyday ‘routine’ :-). I love long blacks, soy cappuccinos or moccacinos and they might just have to be my one vice 🙂

2. I also love having a social life and going out for dinner. I am not willing to give this up but I know a few places where I can get ‘almost’ raw dishes or some that are basically just vegetables (no nasty starches or processed ingredients)

3. Wine is raw, right? 🙂

I know it is going to be a challenge to ‘go raw’ not least because as inner-city dwellers we are largely dependent on what’s on offer at the supermarket and the Sunday farmer’s market. However, I am ready to tackle the challenge and to improve my health and well-being. The last few days have already been amazing and have transformed how I feel. I cannot wait to go running again once my headache has subsided and I am sure the body-transformation will soon show as well. (On this note: I have already noticed a positive difference in my digestion)

Considering that university is over for the year and I have months of summer and summer fruit to look forward to, the next few weeks should be relatively easy. I will be working full-time which gives me a nice routine to my day. My workplace is well equipped with fridges and kitchen gadgets so I can make a nice fruit smoothie in the morning, chill my veges for lunch etc. Around the office area are also heaps of juice bars and a salad lunch bar, in case I’m stuck :-).

I am aiming to become as comfortable as possible with the changes and implement new routines before we head off for our overseas trip which will see us in Seoul for 4 days (now there’s a challenge), Germany for 2 1/2 weeks, Tuscany for 1 week and Sydney for 4 days (over New Year’s yay). I should be well prepared by then and have a beach ready body for the best months of summer here – January and February – before settling back into uni.

I hope, you will enjoy reading this blog and become part of the journey.

Please feel free to comment on my posts, send me messages and links to your own blogs. I am already reading a number of vegan food blogs which I will put on my Blog roll.

Looking forward to some amazing times!

Love

Eva

~ by hearmeraw on October 21, 2008.

One Response to “Hear me raw!”

  1. Congrats on the new blog, I’ve also moved mine a couple of weeks ago. Good luck with your raw food journey, I am looking forward to read your entries.

Leave a Reply

 
