March Musings

Wow, a lot has happened since the last post.

March has come and now it is officially autumn (sounds much better than “summer is over” hehe).

The Green Smoothie seminar really inspired me to include more greens in my diet. So on the weekend market I bought 7 different greens and so far I have done well to eat 2 big portions every day in some form of smoothie and/or salad.

 

Green Extravaganza

Green Extravaganza

Last Sunday I also treated myself to a coconut and drank the coconut water after my run, apparently it’s full of good electrolytes. From this came also the creation of some ice creams… Here the recipes

 

post-run fuel

post-run fuel

Coconut Ice Cream – Basic recipe

 

Meat from 1 coconut (I used the Fijian coconut)

100ml water

¾ cup soaked (and drained) dates

 

Blend all ingredients until smooth

 

Chocolate Hazelnut Brittle Coconut Ice Cream

 

½ portion of the above basic coconut ice cream

50ml filtered water

2 Tblsp cocoa

 

Blend these ingredients until smooth. Place in the fridge to cool.

 

For the hazelnut brittle mix ¼ chopped hazelnuts with 1/3 cup dates (soaked and blended), spread on a dehydrator sheet or baking paper and dehydrate for 4 hours until it sticks together. Then fold into the ice cream mixture and freeze until firm.

 

Hazelnut Brittle

Hazelnut Brittle

Chocolate Hazelnut Brittle Coconut Ice Cream

Chocolate Hazelnut Brittle Coconut Ice Cream

 

Lemon Coconut Ice Cream

 

1/3 portion of the above basic coconut ice cream

1 ½ lemons – juice and rind

 

Blend the ingredients until smooth and freeze.

 

Lucuma Coconut Ice Cream (just a little sample)

 

Blend 4 Tblsp basic Ice Cream mixture with 1 Tblsp Lucuma powder and freeze. Adjust quantities accordingly if you want a larger quantity.

 

Lucuma Coconut Ice Cream

Lucuma Coconut Ice Cream

 

  Besides ice cream making, a few more experiments have been happening in my kitchen.

I have made kale crackers following this recipe on Sherie’s awesome blog. They ended up not sticking together, so I just sprinkle the crumbs on my salad – soooo yum!

Kale sprinkles on zucchini slaw with banana

Kale sprinkles on zucchini slaw with banana

Kale Sprinkles on green salad with orange

Kale Sprinkles on green salad with orange

Kale sprinkles on zucchini slaw with Asian spiced mung bean sprouts

Kale sprinkles on zucchini slaw with Asian spiced mung bean sprouts

Currently my dehydrator is producing some rawmazing corn chips and I will later make some buckwheat puffs from Ani Phyo’s book Ani’s Raw.

Speaking of books – my order from the US has arrived and I am super excited about all those gems. A first look through has gotten me really excited about trying lots of recipes over the next few weeks.

My new raw food books - Yay!

My new raw food books - Yay!

However, uni has started again this Monday so I cannot spend as much time as I would like to on reading and rawcking the kitchen J. But I will keep you updated about it of course.

I enjoy being back at uni full time and just starting new courses, learning new skills and gaining new knowledge, meeting people and seeing my old friends on a regular basis.

This trimester I am taking 4 courses: Bookkeeping, Management Accounting, Commercial Law and Industrial & Organisational Psychology. They seem to work well together in terms of the timetable and assessments, so it should be a nice 3 months ahead.

 

The last few days I got a bit of a cough, not sure why, but I suspect the few times that I got a bit cold in the evenings might have contributed, and my BF had a cough last week so there we go. More greens for me –> fighting the bugs.

 

Okay, I have to get ready for the day now. I hope you guys are all doing well, loving life, living it to the full and just having an awesome time.

 

See you again soon,

 

Love

Eva

~ by hearmeraw on March 6, 2009.

6 Responses to “March Musings”

  1. WELCOME BACK!!

    Okay, you seriously need to stop featuring such delectable treats – you’re tempting me too much!! :-D

    Hang in there with the busyness, girl – you can do it, I know it!!

  2. That coconut looks so refreshing! What a great treat for your body after a run.

    Your kale sprinkles look delicious! What a great idea to sprinkle them on your food! I just might have to make some tomorrow,you’ve inspired me :)

    Take care!

    • Hi Michele,
      thank you for your kind words. I have been very busy with uni and work lately and didn’t get a chance to update the resources page but I am planning to get onto it asap :-)

  3. Wow, these look so delish! I’m thrilled to have found your site!! I’ve experimented with raw living–most of my meals are made up of raw foods, but nothing fancy. I have also juice fasted extensively.

    I haven’t eaten meat for the last few years, so I count it a healthy blessing to have made it as far as being the vegetarian I am today, as well as someone who has gained improved health along her journey. :-)

    *smiles*
    Michele

  4. Thank you all for your comments, I really appreciate it. More recipe experiments are under way :-) Watch this space

  5. Oh, I understand completely about time issues! I have so many dreams and visions for my own site(s) but there’s only so many hours in the day, so it’ll take me a little longer than I originally anticipated to watch it all come to fruition.
    :-)
    Michele

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

